lf2

Reply To: Hi – I'm a sociopath.

Madelaine
Participant

Alaska, I am not an expert, so this is just another idle musing. One thing I read years ago was about defense mechanisms. I think this originated with Freud, or at least it was based on his theory of psychoanalysis.

There are about 2 dozen defense mechanisms. Some of these are well known (eg denial). The purpose of defense mechanisms is to protect the ego. So if you are told you are dying, you might not believe what the doctor is saying… this denial of a “fact” protects the person from the devastating truth that they are going to die. Others include intellectualization (seeing things as an intellectual puzzle rather than an emotionally catastrophic event), sublimation (swapping one activity for another one that is more socially acceptable) and regression (becoming more childlike in stressful situations).

All human beings have their favorite go-to defense mechanisms (I’m guessing maybe a favorite 3 or 4). One of the less well known defense mechanisms is “splitting”. It is thought that this defense mechanism is developed very early in a child’s life (the first 6 months or so) before the child can speak. It is also thought that people with a diagnosis of BPD commonly use splitting as a defense mechanism.

Splitting occurs because the infant can’t understand shades of gray. Either they are fed, and comforted and happy, or they are hungry, in pain and scared. The hungry, scared infant is not able to say to themselves, “Mom always feeds me sooner or later. I’m sure she will again. I will wait patiently until she comes to feed me or burp me to take this pain away”. An infant isn’t able to think these thoughts, so they only know two situations: one where mom is loving and good and the other where mom is denying and causing (or at least not fixing) pain. The infant experiences extreme rage at this mom.